Hello from Florida!

Lesphoto

Hello from Florida!

Post by Lesphoto » Thu May 07, 2020 9:23 am

Good Morning. I'm Les and I've been using Microsquirt for over 7 years. I'm very happy with it's capabilities and I'm interested in using it to turbo my Mazda Rotary 13b. I will be using the Microsquirt for both fuel and spark. I'm working on a test stand set up right now, and looking to use the Tiny I/Ox for additional data channels.

I'm currently seeing:

Coolant temp
Inlet Air Temp
RPM
Baro (manifold)
AFR (single)
Voltage

In addition to the standard I/O I want to see and log:

EGT (2)
Turbo Speed
Oil Pressure
Oil Temp
Fuel Flow
Fuel Level
Fuel Pressure
Coolant Pressure
Baro Reference

I have some spare ADC's on the microsquirt-ADC 5, 29 and the Flex fuel input 6.

Am I able to use CAN and connect the Tiny I/Ox to my Microsquirt along with 5v and ground?

I need the data for tuning and verifying my systems are working.

Thanks for your help and your product!

jbelanger

Re: Hello from Florida!

Post by jbelanger » Fri May 08, 2020 1:36 am

Powering the TIOx from the Microsquirt is not really recommended because of the very limited current capacity of the Microsquirt power supply (not the electronic components but rather the limited heat dissipation capacity). So it would be much better to use a separate power supply to provide 5V. You would use the same ground.

You have up to 9 analog inputs available on the TIOx but you are limited to 8 if you go through the Microsquirt CAN ADC inputs and the Microsquirt datalog. You can datalog the TIOx inputs from TunerStudio through the Microsquirt and the CAN bus using CAN passthrough.