P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

http://jbperf.com/p&h_board/index.html

P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby Paul_VR6 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:47 am

Working on a customer unit that's running a P&H hold board that wants to go to MS3 and retain the P&H. There is space in the case (under the 3x board) with a heatsink if all put inline.

The one thing I'm wondering is outputs. Latest MS3 code doesn't seem to support the seq fuel option with "mainboard" outputs like the MS2 code. What circuitry/connections would be needed to use the MS3 fuel outputs? Is there an option to use the "mainboard" outputs with MS3 with some modification?

Figured this would be the place to ask first before going to the msextra forums... maybe not!

Thanks in advance!
-Paul
kptuned.com
Paul_VR6
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:05 pm
Location: Oxford PA

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby jbelanger » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:37 am

The way to go is to connect J1 on the MS3 card to the P&H board instead of to the MS3X card.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby Paul_VR6 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:47 am

Jean, thanks for the quick response. Just want to confirm, there is no inversion or other circuits necessary in that case, correct? Also, would I need to disconnect the jumper there or can I leave the 3x connected to use the INJ5+ outputs?
-Paul
kptuned.com
Paul_VR6
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:05 pm
Location: Oxford PA

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby jbelanger » Thu Aug 20, 2015 11:02 am

You could split the INJ1-4 wires from the standard flat cable and use those to connect to the P&H board and that would leave you with functional outputs for INJ5+. Or if you prefer some other setup, having the MS3X INJ1-4 connected should not have any impact on the P&H drivers.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby Paul_VR6 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:13 pm

I was thinking leave the jumper but pull signal from the 3x board input side so the P&H is separate from the processor once it's soldered up. If leaving the 3x connected won't screw up the P&H I'll likely do it that way. THANKS! I'll throw up some pics once I have it all done. IT DOES FIT!
-Paul
kptuned.com
Paul_VR6
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:05 pm
Location: Oxford PA

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby Paul_VR6 » Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:09 am

P&H v1.1 install for a 4cyl using ms3(x) outputs, fit in case.

Image

Image

Injector signals taken from bottom of jp1 on 3x side. Heatsink is tight to case sides for max heat dissipation.

Its tight, but it works. Decent solution for those that only need 4 channels.

Thanks again to Jean for the help!
-Paul
kptuned.com
Paul_VR6
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:05 pm
Location: Oxford PA

Re: P&H Board for MS2 to MS3 Upgrade?

Postby jbelanger » Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:33 am

Nice! It's good to see how this can and has been done. You also are using the main board DB37 for the injector outputs, correct?

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada


Return to Peak&Hold Driver

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron