Testing the tach signal - failed

http://jbperf.com/JimStim/index.html
Post Reply
gablussier
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:46 pm
Location: Riviere-du-Loup/QC/Canada

Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by gablussier » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:04 pm

Hi, i've recently build the 1.5 jimstim kit.

it was a blast to do :).

But when i do the the tach signal test, the led does not light up.
I dont know if this can cause a failure to the cpu, but i was a bit confuse and i solder the cpu directly on the board. I forgot to solder the socket.

Can this mistake can cause the cpu to fail? Nothing gets hot when i power the board.

Merci ;)

jbelanger
Posts: 3736
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by jbelanger » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:19 pm

It is possible to damage the CPU when you solder it directly to the board but the main issue is that this makes replacing the CPU a lot harder.

Have you tested the LEDs to makes sure they are working correctly. This is also in the testing/troubleshooting section on the web site. Also make sure you have 3.3V on the board.

Posting a picture of your board configured for your test might help us find something that is not quite right.

Jean
Image

gablussier
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:46 pm
Location: Riviere-du-Loup/QC/Canada

Re: Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by gablussier » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:18 pm

Yes the red del and IAC work.

Here's some pitcure.



https://photos.app.goo.gl/xzbF71EU5AZhA ... ejElvI6YeE

jbelanger
Posts: 3736
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by jbelanger » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:51 pm

All the connections seem fine. I assume that if you connect your green wire in the second picture to the ground header instead of the primary header, the IAC LED simply lights up.

One thing that can be a problem is the transistor Q1. It's difficult to see in the pictures but make sure that the solder joints are fine and that there is no short. It is also possible to overheat them so be careful.

One thing you should check right now is if you get the second trigger working. If that does work then it is very likely Q1 that is the issue. If it does not work, it might be the CPU or it might be that both Q1 and Q2 are the issue (less likely).

Jean
Image

gablussier
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:46 pm
Location: Riviere-du-Loup/QC/Canada

Re: Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by gablussier » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:25 pm

You have very good eye, Q1 was badly solder. Everything works!

Thank you :)

jbelanger
Posts: 3736
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Testing the tach signal - failed

Post by jbelanger » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:51 pm

Content de voir ça!
Image

Post Reply