Subaru 6/7 issue

http://jbperf.com/dual_VR/index.html

Subaru 6/7 issue

Postby bubba2533 » Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:51 pm

Hey Jean,

I just got one of these from you. I'm not quite sure how to use the Jim stim I got from you with it. I get a crank signal just great, but I cannot seem to get a cam signal. I know the Stim is out putting a cam signal because I jumpered from 2nd trigger to TACH (with the primary tach jump removed) and I got a good signal. I've tried grounding the VR1- (SPR2) on the stim and that did nothing.

I've got the stim setup for 6/7 subaru triggers. I wired it up so that Crank is VR2,Out2 cause it looked better. I'm hoping that it would not screw me up. And I have a jumper from 2nd trigger JMP to SPR3.

I also do not get a crank signal without a 5v pull-up.

And this is how I wired it up.
VR1+ to SPR3
VR1- to SPR2
VR2- to SPR1
VR2+ to TACHSELECT
Out1 to JS10
Out2 to TSEL
12V to S12
Ground to Proto Gnd
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:46 am

On the JimStim, you should leave VR1- unconnected and use a pullup on the second trigger. Either a 12V or 5V pullup will work. I assume you are using the VR emulator mode for the primary trigger which will give a zero-crossing signal but the second trigger doesn't have that so you need to set it up like you would for a hall sensor (pull up on VR+ and VR- not connected to anything).

And you do need a pull up on the primary trigger to generate a signal so what you're seeing is normal.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:08 am

jbelanger wrote:On the JimStim, you should leave VR1- unconnected and use a pullup on the second trigger. Either a 12V or 5V pullup will work. I assume you are using the VR emulator mode for the primary trigger which will give a zero-crossing signal but the second trigger doesn't have that so you need to set it up like you would for a hall sensor (pull up on VR+ and VR- not connected to anything).

And you do need a pull up on the primary trigger to generate a signal so what you're seeing is normal.

Jean


The thing is, I have done all that and I still cannot get a cam signal.
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:31 am

How do you establish that you don't have a cam signal? Do you check the composite logger in TS? Or do you measure the signal with a scope? Can you use VR1 for the crank and VR2 for the cam to check if there isn't an issue with VR1?

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:17 am

Composite logger in TS. Don't have a scope. I could try switching them.
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Subaru 6/7 trigger issue

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:29 am

You can also use a LED on Out1 to see if there is a signal going out.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:58 am

Still no cam signal. With a 5V pull up on both signals (with the jimstim).

This is my wiring now.

VR1+ to TACHSELECT
VR1- to SPR2
VR2- to SPR1
VR2+ to SPR3
Out1 to TSEL
Out2 to JS10
12V to S12
Ground to Proto Gnd
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:14 pm

Post your msq. From what you've done, you've proven that you have a signal up to the CPU. So either the CPU input pin for JS10 has failed or you have a bad configuration.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:19 pm

MSQ Attached
Attachments
Subaru Trigger.msq
(78.76 KiB) Downloaded 167 times
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:34 pm

Using your msq and my JimStim, I do get a correct cam signal so your config is fine. You'll have to check the JS10 input because that's the only thing left.

Check that you have continuity between the JS10 pad and pin 17 on the CPU socket and if that checks out, you'll want to check that you have continuity up to the R9 on the MS2 card. Then if that checks out, you'll need to see if you have continuity between R9 and the CPU (pin 8). Be careful when checking continuity on the MS2 card since there is very little space between pins.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:05 pm

Out2 to JS10 pad checks out
JS10 pad to pin 17 of daughter card Checks out
pin 17 to R9 checks out
R9 is 331 Ohms
R9 to pin 8 on CPU checks out

Then I went from pin 8 on CPU to pin 17 of daughter card and got 331 Ohms

Installed the daughter card again and went from Out2 to pin 8 on CPU and got 331 Ohms
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:18 pm

R9 should be 1K but measuring that in circuit is difficult, if not impossible.

So everything checks out in terms of connectivity which doesn't bode well for the health of the CPU pin. One thing you can try to do a final check on the pin is to use it as an output. Use you current msq but change the wheel mode to 36-1 on the JimStim and set your MS to toothed wheel and single wheel with missing tooth (Trigger Wheel Settings) with 36 teeth and 1 missing. Then check that you get a correct RPM and that the coil outputs (LEDs) work correctly.

Then you'll want to bypass the dual VR board and connect JS10 directly to one of the spare pins you're using. Then connect this spare pin to one of the ignition LEDs on the JimStim. Once this is done, you can change the spark A from D14 to JS10 in TS. If you see the ignition LED flicker (you may need to invert the spark output to better see it) then the pin on the CPU is fine. If you don't see the LED flicker and it's either alway on or always off then the CPU pin is dead for some reason.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:36 pm

Hooked it up like you said and the LED was staying on, even with no RPM.

Then I switched the Ignition output to Going Low (Normal) and it works. LED flashes and is off when there is no RPM.
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:43 pm

Then try to bypass the dual VR board for the cam input. Change your spark output back to D14, connect the spare pin connected to JS10 to the second trigger pin on the JimStim (instead of the ignition LED) and make sure you have a 5V pull up jumper on the second trigger. Then leave the JimStim configured for 36-1 but change the TS config from single wheel to dual wheel with missing tooth. Check what you get in the composite logger.

I must say that I don't understand why you were not getting a cam signal before but this will eliminate one of the potential issues.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: New board: Dual VR 2.0

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:54 pm

Ok, I think it was the firmware. I reverted to 3.1.0 and it works both with the VR conditioner and without.

Not sure yet but I'll go back to 3.1.1 to see if i can replicate it.
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: Subaru 6/7 issue

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:57 pm

Let me know if it was indeed a 3.1.1 issue because that is really strange.

And I have split this from the dual VR board thread just to keep it clearer.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Subaru 6/7 issue

Postby bubba2533 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:10 pm

My firmware must have been corrupt. Works fine with the conditioner on both 3.1.0 and 3.1.1
bubba2533
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:38 pm

Re: Subaru 6/7 issue

Postby jbelanger » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:36 pm

Good to know it's working. I was surprised because I was using 3.1.1 for my tests and everything was working fine.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada


Return to Dual VR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest