TinyIOx

http://jbperf.com/io_extender/index.html
http://jbperf.com/io_extender/tinyIOx.html for the TinyIOx

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:02 am

Have you checked this: http://msextra.com/doc/ms3/accelerometer.html ? Yes you need to enable CAN ADC polling on the MS3: http://msextra.com/doc/ms3/can.html#config. And the CAN Id for the TinyIOx is 4.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby mwp » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:45 am

Ok, i have it working now.

Is there realistically any advantage in having the ADC set to 12bit over 10bit?

Thanks.
mwp
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 4:20 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:03 pm

Unless you go to great lengths to ensure that there is very little noise in your setup and that your sensor can actually be that precise, there won't be any real benefit.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby mwp » Thu Apr 11, 2013 2:48 am

Ok, thanks.
Ill see how i go.

My MS3+MS3X+TinyIOx+Bluetooth+ADXL build into a new case is now pretty much complete :D
mwp
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 4:20 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby dontz125 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:28 am

I've probably asked this, but can't find / remember the answer: What is the height above the PCB of the tallest component (looks like the oscillator) when ordered without the LC-1 serial jack?
dontz125
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:27 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:36 am

Besides the stereo jack, the crystal is the tallest and it is 3.6mm high. The stereo jack is 4.0mm high.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby dontz125 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:44 am

Thanks!
dontz125
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:27 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Postby joeldc13 » Wed May 01, 2013 3:56 pm

Hello Jean,

I would like to order you a TinyIOx board but can't PM cause I've just registered, how can I order it ?

thanks
joeldc13
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 3:39 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Wed May 01, 2013 4:37 pm

joeldc13 wrote:Hello Jean,

I would like to order you a TinyIOx board but can't PM cause I've just registered, how can I order it ?

thanks

You'll now be able to PM me. Send me your location and I'll let you know how to proceed.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby whity » Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:39 pm

jbelanger wrote:I have a new board that called the TinyIOx. It based on the smallest package from the CPU family used by the IOx (I/O Extender). So it has a small subset of the IOx: 9 ADCs, 6 timer channels, CAN, 1 RS-232 port, 1 I2C bus and 2 spare digital I/Os. The RS-232 is connected to a 2.5mm jack for connecting to an LC1 chain. I communicates with an MS2 or MS3 through the CAN port.

So if you want to get the digital data from an LC1 or a chain of up to 16 of them, you can simply connect it to the CAN bus of your MS2 or MS3, power it from the 5V supply of your MS board and plug the LC1 chain to the 2.5mm stereo jack using the standard Innovate wire. This is what it looks like:

tinyIOx_v1_0.jpg


The board is again 5cm x 5cm and the CPU side is just a bit wider than the proto area side. And if the proto area is not needed, it can be snapped off since the board is scored for this. But with the proto area, you can add ADC circuits, an optp-coupler for a Hall sensor, an LM1815 for a VR sensor, a small NPN transistors with resistors for a digital output, ...

I still need to do some tests on the firmware but since it is based on the existing IOx, it should be mainly going through all the features. The pricing is yet to be finalized but should be the same as the IOx-OEM which is $75.

Jean

p.s.: This is also posted on the msextra forum: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 67&t=44280




I am interestet in this board, so is it possible to get it in germany?
whity
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:14 pm

whity wrote:I am interestet in this board, so is it possible to get it in germany?

Yes. I sent you a PM about it.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby whity » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:55 pm

Can anyone tell me if the MTX-L is compatible?

Here is a link:

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/MTXL.php
whity
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:31 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:03 pm

Yes it is. It has the same serial protocol as the LC-1.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby mwp » Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:47 am

mwp
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 4:20 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby Perkkis » Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:33 am

I have a bit of a problem getting the ADC channels to work in TS.
I'm using MS2/E 3.3.5 gslender 2.6, TS 2.2.13 and TinyOIx updated to 0.0.5.
I'm using the TinyIOx for AFR from LC1 and 4 channels of EGT. After alot of searching I got the AFR working from "Remote ADC0" but I can't get anything from the other ADC's at TinyOIx.
If I understood everything right I need to use ADC's via the gpioadc channels in custom.ini as attached. But they only show 478 in TS and RAW value of 500 but the gpioadc0 for AFR works fine.
And if I enable runtime data at project properties and get access to the TinyOIx ADC raw gauges they work as they should so everything should be electrically ok, but I cannot use them via custom.ini when the runtime data is disabled as it should.
And I have activated the ADC channels 1,2,3,6 "AD 0,1,2,5" that I use, the mapping is normal and base I/O ADC is enabled.
Other settings
My CAN ID=0
Poll remote=Generic Board
Remote CAN ID=4
Enabled ADC Polling with table=7 and offset=76

What am I doing whong here?
Thank you.
Attachments
custom.ini
(1.45 KiB) Downloaded 156 times
Perkkis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:51 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:50 am

You will need to post your entire TS project so that I can have a look at the settings on your MS2 and your TinyIOx. You can either zip the entire directory or use the archive project feature in TS (you should update your TS to the latest beta).

Also, in MS2 there is no dedicated variable for the external AFR data so you have to "cheat". You need to overwrite the ADC data with the AFR data. You likely did that if you say you can now have the data but you should be using Remote ADC7 not 0. So you likely have set the number of AFR value to overwrite to 8 instead of 1. That would put your AFR data in ADC0 but that would also completely overwrite the ADC data.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby Perkkis » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:49 am

Here is hopefully the necessary files zipped because even with the latest TS the archive function hanged on 30%, maybe because I have so many .msq's and log's in project folder.
I don't know how I got the LC1 AFR to work because I just selected the Remote ADC0 as EGO input, this idea I found somewhere in the forum and it worked. I didn't do any other tweaks to it yet.

But I hope you can find whats wrong with my settings.

And actually my code was 3.3.4 gslender 2.6, but I don't think this has anything to do with it. :)
Attachments
Cossu.zip
(99.71 KiB) Downloaded 151 times
Perkkis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:51 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:09 am

I need to complete project directory with all the subdirectories. Otherwise I can't load the project in TS.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: TinyIOx

Postby Perkkis » Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:23 am

Let's try again.
Attachments
Cossu.zip
(163 KiB) Downloaded 158 times
Perkkis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:51 am

Re: TinyIOx

Postby jbelanger » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:18 pm

You had the ADC polling on the MS2 set to read the AFR data on the TinyIOx. That's not how you have to do it on MS2/Extra. You need to overwrite the ADC data with the AFR data.

First you need to enable the overwriting and set the number of overwritten values to 1 on the TinyIOx:

afr_data_settings.png
afr_data_settings.png (18.67 KiB) Viewed 11564 times


Then you need to set the remote table offset for the ADC data to 2 on the MS2 (you had it set to 76 which is the AFR data):

can_parameters.png
can_parameters.png (31.92 KiB) Viewed 11564 times


And finally you need to set the 1st EGO sensor port to Remote ADC7 since this is where the overwritten value is written:

ego_control.png
ego_control.png (24.88 KiB) Viewed 11564 times


As I mentioned, since there is no dedicated AFR value for data coming from a CAN device on MS2/Extra, I had to cheat and overwrite ADC data. To try and minimize the impact on ADC data, I chose to put the AFR data on the last ADC(s). That means for a single AFR value, it is put in ADC channel 8 on the TinyIOX (which corresponds to the Remote ADC7 spot on the MS2); for 2 AFR values, the channels 7 and 8 are used; for 3 AFR values, channels 6, 7, 8 are used; etc.

Since you have a single AFR value, only channel 8 is affected and you are not using it nor is it enabled so everything is as it should be on that front. With the corrections mentioned above, you should see your ADC inputs correctly.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to I/O Extender

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests