TinyIOx

http://jbperf.com/io_extender/index.html
http://jbperf.com/io_extender/tinyIOx.html for the TinyIOx
Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:59 pm

Hi Jean,

I have purchased a TinyIOx, just to have more analog inputs to show extra temperatures on the dashboard of Tunerstudio.
It is installed with the CAN bus. When I launch "port scanner V1.2" then it finds my megasquirt and the TinyIOx, I can flash in the latest firmware. So I have communication.
Tunerstudio is modified, so I have the device choise between my car project and TinyIOx (CAN4).
In TinyIOx setup, in "Base I/O settings" I have set ADC to enable.
in "ADC channels activation" I have set ADC channel 2 to active
I have put a adjustable 0 to 5 volt signal at AD1 for testing (it comes from the power supply, so GND's are connected)
In Tunerstudio I have created a extra gauche where controller is set to "CAN4" and output channel to AD1.
And now, when I change my signal, nothing happens. The new gauche does not move and when I go to "CAN4, Data, Real time display" all the values stay at 100.

What am I doing wrong?
Best regards
Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Tue Nov 01, 2016 2:49 pm

Marc,

You will need to post a backup of your project because I need to see all your settings. This is under File/Vehicle Projects menu. Make sure to unclick the boxes on the right in the dialog window so that the datalogs and restore points are not included: this should make the backup file a reasonable size.

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:44 am

Hi Jean,

I found the problem.
As outputchannel I have to take GPIOADCx instead of ADCx. Now it is working.
Thanks for the effort.
Next week I will order 2 more TinyIOx.

Marc

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:14 am

Hi Jean,

I want to order 2 more TinyIOx boards, but I see that sale is suspended.
Can I still order them?

One more question: is there a terminator resistor for the CAN bus on the board? If yes, which one is that?

Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:06 pm

Marc,

The ordering button should be back online sometime this week. I'll post here when it happens.

And yes there is a terminating resistor and that's what the DIP switch is for. The switch enables (switch on) and disables (switch off) the resistor so you can have multiple boards on the bus.

Jean
Image

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:36 pm

The TinyIOx ordering is back online: http://www.jbperf.com/io_extender/tinyIOx.html#Buy.

If you were considering buying a TinyIOx in the near (or not so near) future, you may want to do so now while it is available. The current batch is limited and I'm not sure when the next one will be available.

Jean
Image

mill383
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:56 am

Re: TinyIOx

Post by mill383 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:59 pm

Two orders for TinyIOs heading your way, Jean. Hope you can keep your very useful product line open.
-Dave

Ted75zcar
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:52 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Ted75zcar » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:38 pm

WHOOPS! wrong thread, taking to general TinyIOx thread

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:08 am

Hi Jean,

Hope you are doing well!

After an unexpected break, I am working again on this project.
Everything is working, except getting decent values on the gauges.
In tools I have filled in the calibration tables for CAN 4, in "Led displays" "Sensor calibration" I have connected the calibration tables to the sensors.
Probably I am using the wrong gauges. Which gauges output channel should I use to have a "calibrated" gauge? There are so many channels that I do not see the wood for the trees.

Thx
Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:01 am

Marc,

In the current firmware, the calibration tables are only used to display values on the LED displays; that's why they are located in that specific dialog window. You can't get the calibrated values directly in the gauges in TunerStudio.

You can still get calibrated values in TunerStudio but you will need to either use a custom.ini file or use the channel editor and wizard: http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/tu ... nel-wizard.

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Sun May 06, 2018 7:17 am

Hi Jean,

Back again with another question.

Is it possible to put the newly generated channel (by the custom channel wizard) back on the CAN bus, so I can put it on an external display?

Thx,

Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Sun May 06, 2018 12:50 pm

Marc,

The generated channels only exist inside TunerStudio on the PC. The TinyIOx has no knowledge of it whatsoever so it cannot put it on the CAN bus.

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Tue Oct 13, 2020 9:06 am

Hi Jean,

Hope you are doing well!

I want to order the "PWM convertor board", but there is no "add to cart" button to order it.
How can I order it?

Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Tue Oct 13, 2020 6:17 pm

Marc,

It's no longer available. But with a TinyIOx, you should not need one since you can have pretty much any PWM frequency.

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:10 am

Jean,

I do not understand how to do that.
I want to convert the existing pwm output signal for boostcontrol to a higher frequency than provided by megasquirt. I want a pwm signal with frequency of 2 kHz.
How do I do this with a TinyIox?

Marc

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:40 pm

Marc,

You would need to move your boost control from a pin on the Megasquirt to a pin on the TIOx. This can be done on the MS2 (and other MS2-based ECUs).

If that's what you have, please post your msq for the MS2 and the TIOx and I can elaborate. It involves using one of the CAN ports as a PWM outputs. (If you look at the IOx website you can see the idea behind it but the screen capture pictures are for very old versions of the firmware).

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Sat Oct 17, 2020 3:19 pm

Jean,

In attachment the .msq.
On the TinyIox AD5, AD6 and AD9 are free.

But perhaps first an explanation of what I want to do:
I want to experiment on our racecar with a wastegate actuated by a (rc) servo.
For this I need a PWM signal with a base frequency of 50Hz. The signal should be between 1ms (for 0% boost-output) and 2ms (for 100% boost-ouput).

I think the best solution would be to change the MS2/Extra 3.4.2 firmware, so I have the output as I would like it to be. I do not know if you can change the firmware?

If this is not possible, then I would use a work-around and translate the pwm signal to an analog signal and translate this analog signal to the pwm signal that I need. This translator from analog to desired pwm is already ready and working.
Translating the pwm signal to an analog signal with a resistor-capacitor filter brings a delay which is too big. I found a microcontroller driven translator which is very quick, but it needs a pwm signal between 1kHz and 3kHz. This is why I want a pwm signal of 2kHz.

Hope you can help me.
Attachments
Patcar-Nissan-2020-10-17_20.30.05.msq
(119.34 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:04 pm

I would need to see your TIOx msq also. Are you currently using one or both of the PWM outputs (TPM2CH0, TPM2CH1)? If not, you can use them to drive an RC servo and you can use that with the boost control on the MS2.

Once I have the information, I can then go into the details of how to set this. It is basically what I mentioned previously plus the need to configure the PWM output and timer on the TIOx to use an RC servo signal.

Jean
Image

Marcdekika
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:13 pm

Re: TinyIOx

Post by Marcdekika » Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:49 am

Jean,

I did not know that there was a separate TinyIox msq. I suppose it is the one in attachment.
I am only using AD0,AD1, AD2, AD3, AD4 and AD8, the rest is free.

Marc
Attachments
CAN4_CurrentTune.msq
(23.07 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

jbelanger
Posts: 3860
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: TinyIOx

Post by jbelanger » Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:47 pm

Marc,

You will need to set these things on the TIOx:

io_settings_rcservo.png
TIOx I/O Settings for RC servo
io_settings_rcservo.png (30.83 KiB) Viewed 2014 times
port_settings_rcservo.png
TIOx Ports Settings for RC Servo
port_settings_rcservo.png (44.09 KiB) Viewed 2014 times
And on the MS2 you will need to set the CAN parameters and the Boost settings. I have not changed any of the boost settings differently from the defaults from your msq except for what is needed to use an RC servo on the TIOx but you will want to set things up the way you need it for the type of control you have in mind. Also, you will need to check which polarity you need depending on your hardware setup.

can_param_rcservo.png
MS2 CAN Parameters for RC servo
can_param_rcservo.png (51.41 KiB) Viewed 2014 times
boost_control_rcservo.png
MS2 Boost Control Settings for RC servo
boost_control_rcservo.png (56.51 KiB) Viewed 2014 times

That should get you started. You will need to use a driver circuit for your PWM output. This can be a simple transistor output with a small NPN transistor, a base 1k resistor and a 1k 5V pull up; the current should be quite small so you can select almost any cheap component for these.

Jean
Image

Post Reply