CAN-EGT+

New boards that are planned or are in development

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby julian944 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:09 pm

Ok I found the mistake. I had the wrong polarity. I thought that it is -,+ starting from the left side. My thermocouple is working like that.
But the adc channel worked the other way. Nevertheless it is working now.

I just asked because I have a pressure sensor giving 0-10V for 0-10 bar. I use it for exhaust backpressure. I believe it will not reach 5bar, but good to know I don't damage it immediately.

Thank you very much for your support Jean!

Regards Julian
julian944
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:59 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby pocpoc » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:29 am

Hello Jean,


this CAN-EGT+ still available or not?
If available: could you PM me a quote?

On this board I plan to use :
5 EGT K probe
3 standard sensor (2 temp + 1 pressure) and add a GPS board (

Is it possible to add:
a 20 Hz GPS board as this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11058
a 3-Axis board as this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9269

Romain.
pocpoc
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:46 pm

Romain,

Yes, it is still available. I''ll send you an email.

You will need to add 2 bias resistors for the temp sensors, a 3.3V power supply for the GPS and accelerometer and a voltage translator for the serial link between the CPU and the GPS board (the accelerometer can be read directly by the ADC inputs). You might also want to add a battery for the GPS module or add the supercap on the Sparkfun board; that will speed up satellite tracking on power up a lot.

And yes these 2 boards are compatible if you add what I mention above.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby Mustang68 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:18 am

Jean,

Do you have the parts-list for the EGT inputs.

Thanks, Jacco
Mustang68
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby superdavemotorsports » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:25 pm

Jean,
I'm interested in your 8 channel egt board. I already have your IOx board. Price and availability please.
Thanks Dave
superdavemotorsports
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:20 pm
Location: Washington state

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:35 pm

Dave,

PM sent.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby pocpoc » Thu Apr 23, 2015 4:44 pm

Hi jean,

Pm sent for a quote request.

Romain.
pocpoc
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:36 pm

Romain,

Reply sent.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby TwinScrew20v » Fri May 08, 2015 9:36 pm

I was wondering if I could get a quote and a availability for the board. I'm debating a 6 EGT setup on my MS3 VR6 turbo. Thanks,

Jason
TwinScrew20v
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:34 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Sat May 09, 2015 12:37 am

Jason,

PM sent.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby badbug » Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:24 pm

jberlanger,

I would like a board with 8 EGT 4 for cylinder head and 4 for EG. I will be using this on a aircooled engine. The timing circuit can be used for fuel pressure,oil pressure and so on.
badbug
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:36 pm

The same circuits can be used for EGT and CHT. It is also possible to adjust the range for the CHT to get a bit more precision.

I don't understand what you mean by the timing circuit. For fuel pressure, oil pressure and other analog signals, you need to use the ADC inputs. There are 16 of them available but you would need to build the conditioning circuits and add a connector and/or wiring to connect those circuits to the sensors.

You can PM me and give me your location if you want me to give you a quote for the board and shipping.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby badbug » Mon Oct 19, 2015 3:33 pm

Just would like to know if this board could also do AFR readings too.
badbug
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:01 pm

badbug wrote:Just would like to know if this board could also do AFR readings too.

Yes it can but exactly how depends on which WBO2 controller you want to use. If you have an LC1/LC2 (or many of them), you can connect them to the 2.5 mm stereo jack. If you have SLC OEM modules, you can connect them to the I2C bus. And if you have any other type, you can connect them to ADC (analog) inputs.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby badbug » Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:08 pm

Ok, still haven't gotten a quote on how much the unit will cost.
badbug
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby pocpoc » Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:29 pm

jbelanger wrote:Romain,

Yes, it is still available. I''ll send you an email.

You will need to add 2 bias resistors for the temp sensors, a 3.3V power supply for the GPS and accelerometer and a voltage translator for the serial link between the CPU and the GPS board (the accelerometer can be read directly by the ADC inputs). You might also want to add a battery for the GPS module or add the supercap on the Sparkfun board; that will speed up satellite tracking on power up a lot.

And yes these 2 boards are compatible if you add what I mention above.

Jean


Hi to all,

I'm now ongoing to the final assembly of GPS & Accelero board.
The accelero board is supply by a 3,3V converter. Output is at 3,3V max.
How I can setup the software for a max level of 3,3V and not, as expected, 5V?
Where is the appropriate ADC entry?

In order to avoid stupid error: the GPS must be connect to CPU TX/RX ?
Of course the logic converter is fitted between GPS board and CAN-EGT+ board.

Thanks for your feedback.
pocpoc
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:41 pm

The fact that the accelerometer generates a 0-3.3V signal is not a problem; the ADC input will just use 66% of the potential range. You simply compensate for it when you do the calibration.

And the GPS needs to connect to the correct TX/RX on the CPU (there are 2 of them). You need to use PTF0/TXD2 and PTF1/RXD2 on the JP3 header. Don't forget that you need to connect the CPU TX to the GPS RX and CPU RX to GPS TX.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby pocpoc » Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:05 pm

Thanks Jean for your answer.

Could you clarify where are the correct pads in JP3 fpr GPS connection.
Is it possible to have the same thing for the ADC pads for 3 axis accelero :?:
pocpoc
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby jbelanger » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:05 pm

The same headers are used for the IOx and the CAN EGT so you can have a look at the IOx page. The JP3 header below shows you where PTF0/TXD2 and PTF1/RXD2 are located (5th pad from the right).
Image

The accelerometer can use any of the free ADC inputs but the "standard" ones are PTC5/ADP21, PTB6/ADP14 and PTA7/ADP7 on JP1 which correspond to channels 17,18,19.

Image

Note that the CAN EGT has an RS232 chip connected to the serial port you want to use with the GPS. That is normally used for connecting to an LC1 on the CAN-EGT through the 2.5mm stereo jack. You obviously can't use the serial port for both functions at the same time. But I also have not tried to see if the RS232 chip has an impact on the communication between the CPU and the GPS. It may be necessary to remove the chip if you can't get it to work.

Jean
Image
jbelanger
 
Posts: 3633
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: CAN-EGT+

Postby vatnehol » Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:50 pm

Hi.
I would like to order one with 2 egt inputs.

Ronny
vatnehol
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:45 pm

PreviousNext

Return to New Boards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron